It is illegal and unsafe to drive without car insurance in Louisiana. Every driver needs safe, reliable and low-cost auto insurance while driving on Louisiana roads. insurancemozo.com may save you money on your auto insurance because we understand the value of important information necessary to find the Best Louisiana Car Insurance for you.
Minimum liability requirements in Louisiana for car insurance are 10/20/10. This means that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:
$10,000 bodily injury per person.
$20,000 for all injuries per accident.
$10,000 total property damage per accident
Louisiana currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.
No, Louisiana is not a no fault State, so no fault insurance is not required. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.
There are laws in all states for insurance coverage, but there are still some drivers on the roads without adequate coverage .What happened if you have an accident with someone who does not have sufficient money? Who will pay for their claims?
Here UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage policy may covers all those matters.
The State of Louisiana does not currently requires UM/UIM coverage. However it is always advisable to have this insurance cover because if you are hit by an uninsured driver even if he is at fault you may have to pay the bill if you are not covered by these coverage plans.
To find the most affordable car insurance in Louisiana, various kind of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Vehicle safety discount, Safe driver discount, Good student discount, Passive restraint discount etc. which may be available in Louisiana as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider.
PIP stands for personal injury protection which means that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses, rehabilitation, lost wages and other damage of those injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.
The State of Louisiana current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.
Your best option to find the best and cheap car insurance coverage in Louisiana is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE cheap auto insurance quotes.
To find the best and cheap Louisiana Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:
Louisiana Office of Motor vehicles: www. omv.dps.state.la.us/
Louisiana Department of Insurance: www. ldi.state.la.us/
Louisiana official website: www.louisiana.gov
Louisiana Department of Insurance at:
Post Office Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: