It is illegal and unsafe to drive without car insurance in Maine. Every driver needs safe, reliable and low-cost auto insurance while driving on Maine roads. insurancemozo.com may save you money on your auto insurance because we understand the value of important information necessary to find the Best Maine Car Insurance for you.
Minimum liability requirements in Maine for car insurance are 50/100/25. This means that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:
$50,000 bodily injury per person.
$100,000 for all injuries per accident.
$25,000 total property damage per accident
Maine currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.
No, Maine is not a no fault State, so no fault insurance is not required. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.
There are laws in all states for insurance coverage, but there are still some drivers on the roads without adequate coverage .What happened if you have an accident with someone who does not have sufficient money? Who will pay for their claims?
Here UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage policy may covers all those matters.
The State of Maine currently requires UM/UIM coverage for bodily injury with mandatory minimums of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
To find the most affordable car insurance in Maine, various kind of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Good driving discount, Safe driver discount, Good student discount, Accident free discount etc. which may be available in Maine as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider.
PIP stands for personal injury protection which means that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses, rehabilitation, lost wages and other damage of those injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.
The State of Maine current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.
However, Maine does require medical payments coverage covering at least $2,000 for the medical and funeral expenses incurred by you or others hurt or killed in an accident while riding in or driving your car. Claims against this coverage include all reasonable hospital, surgical, chiropractor, X-ray, dental, professional nursing, prosthetic, and funeral expenses. It may also cover you and your family members of your household for injuries resulting from another vehicle while walking or biking. This coverage may pay for your medical and funeral expenses even if you cause the accident. Usually, only expenses incurred within a specified period of time after the accident are included.
Your best option to find the best and cheap car insurance coverage in Maine is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE cheap auto insurance quotes.
To find the best and cheap Maine Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:
Maine Bureau of Motor vehicles: www. maine.gov/sos/bmv/
Maine Department of Insurance: www. maine.gov/pfr/insurance/
Maine official website: www.maine.gov
Maine Bureau of Insurance at:
#34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
Phone: (800) 300-5000
Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: