Massachusetts Car Insurance


It is illegal and unsafe to drive without car insurance in Massachusetts. Every driver needs safe, reliable and low-cost auto insurance while driving on Massachusetts roads. insurancemozo.com may save you money on your auto insurance because we understand the value of important information necessary to find the Best Massachusetts Car Insurance for you.

What are the minimum Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements?

Minimum liability requirements in Massachusetts for car insurance are 20/40/5. This means that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:

$20,000 bodily injury per person.

$40,000 total bodily injury per accident.

$5,000 total property damage per accident

Massachusetts currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.

Is Massachusetts No fault State?

Yes, Massachusetts is a “no-fault” state, which means that if you are involved in an accident; your insurance company may pay for any damages to you, regardless of who is at fault.

Should I purchase UM/UIM protection?

There are laws in all states for insurance coverage, but there are still some drivers on the roads without adequate coverage .What happened if you have an accident with someone who does not have sufficient money? Who will pay for their claims?

Here UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage policy may covers all those matters.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts currently requires UM/UIM coverage with minimum coverage limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.

What are the various discounts I can avail in Massachusetts?

To find the most affordable car insurance in Massachusetts, various kind of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Senior driver discount, Green car discount, Pay per mile insurance discount, Loyalty discount etc. which may be available in Massachusetts as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider.

Should I buy PIP (Personal injury protection)/Medical payments (Med pay)?

PIP stands for personal injury protection which means that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses, rehabilitation, lost wages and other damage of those injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance with a minimum coverage limit of $8,000.

How do I get a best car Insurance Quote in Massachusetts?

Your best option to find the best and cheap car insurance coverage in Massachusetts is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE cheap auto insurance quotes.

Official websites links:

To find the best and cheap Massachusetts Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:

Massachusetts Registry of Motor vehicles: www.massrmv.com

Massachusetts Department of Insurance: www.mass.gov/doi

Massachusetts official website: www.mass.gov

Massachusetts Division of Insurance at:

One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 02110-2208
Phone: (617) 521-7794

Car insurance agents in Massachusetts

Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: