Mississippi Car Insurance


It is illegal and unsafe to drive without car insurance in Mississippi. Every driver needs safe, reliable and low-cost auto insurance while driving on Mississippi roads. insurancemozo.com may save you money on your auto insurance because we understand the value of important information necessary to find the Best Mississippi Car Insurance for you.

What are the minimum Mississippi Car Insurance Requirements?

Minimum liability requirements in Mississippi for car insurance are 25/50/25. This means that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:

$25,000 bodily injury per person.

$50,000 total bodily injury per accident.

$25,000 total property damage per accident

Mississippi currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.

Is Mississippi a tort State?

Yes, Mississippi is a tort State. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.

Should I purchase UM/UIM protection?

There are laws in all states for insurance coverage, but there are still some drivers on the roads without adequate coverage .What happened if you have an accident with someone who does not have sufficient money? Who will pay for their claims?

Here UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage policy may covers all those matters.

The State of Mississippi currently does not require UM/UIM coverage. However it is always advisable to have this insurance cover because if you are hit by an uninsured driver even if he is at fault you may have to pay the bill if you are not covered by these coverage plans.

What are the various discounts I can avail in Mississippi?

To find the most affordable car insurance in Mississippi, various kind of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Vehicle safety discount, Student away at school discount, Driver training discount, Safe driver discount etc. which may be available in Mississippi as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider.

Should I buy PIP (Personal injury protection)/Medical payments (Med pay)?

PIP stands for personal injury protection which means that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses, rehabilitation, lost wages and other damage of those injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.

The State of Mississippi current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

How do I get a best car Insurance Quote in Mississippi?

Your best option to find the best and cheap car insurance coverage in Mississippi is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE cheap auto insurance quotes.

Official websites links:

To find the best and cheap Mississippi Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:

Mississippi Department of Motor vehicles: www.dmv.org/ms-mississippi/

Mississippi Department of Insurance: www. mid.state.ms.us

Mississippi official website: www.mississippi.gov

Mississippi Division of Insurance at:

P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: (601) 359-3569

Car insurance agents in Mississippi

Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: