Like most of the other states, drivers in New Jersey are required to carry basic auto insurance. New Jersey has its own car insurance rules and regulations. These laws are there to protect drivers on the road. Do you want to learn how insurancemozo.com can save you money on your auto insurance in New Jersey? insurancemozo.com understands the value of important information necessary to find the Best New Jersey Car Insurance for you and thus presents below a detailed list of articles which will help you find the cheapest auto insurance rates in New Jersey.
New Jersey drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. Depending on various situations, there are two insurance options:
$5,000 per accident for property damage. This coverage does not include the costs of repairing or replacing your car.
$15,000 per person per accident for personal injury protection (PIP) benefits.
$250,000 per person per accident in PIP benefits for certain serious injuries, such as brain or spinal cord injuries.
Standard Plan coverage includes:
$15,000 for injury/death for one person
$30,000 for injury death to more than one person
$5,000 for property damage
$15,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
$15,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist injury
It is worth mentioning here that if you do not have any liability coverage, you are responsible for paying for the pain, suffering and other personal hardships and some economic damages, such as lost wages, that you cause. The insurer will not provide or pay for a lawyer to represent you if you are sued.
New Jersey follows a “no-fault” system when it comes to auto accidents and insurance. This means that if you are involved in an accident, your insurance company will pay for any damages to you, regardless of who is at fault.
One key thing to note is that drivers in New Jersey have the option of choosing between no-fault and traditional car insurance.
For the drivers who choose traditional coverage option they can file a claim against other driver after accident. On the other hand drivers who choose no-fault option can file a lawsuit only if the accident resulted in dismemberment: significant disfigurement or significant scarring; displaced fractures; loss of a fetus; or permanent injury (other than scarring or disfigurement)
Suppose you carry certain car insurance policy and suddenly meet an accident in New Jersey. Now what will happen if the other party doesn’t carry car insurance policy? Who will pay for the claims of uninsured party?
In New Jersey drivers are required to carry this insurance coverage. It is available up to amounts selected for liability coverage. However this coverage is available only for “Basic Plan” coverage and is not a part of “Standard Plan” coverage
Although car insurance in the state of New Jersey is a bit on higher side still there are many ways in which you can cut your insurance premium costs.
There are various discounts available in New Jersey such as Bundle Discount, where person bundles multiple cars, home, life and other insurances from same insurer, Safe driver discount, Safety equipment discounts, when your car has some security alarm or gps tracking device, new car discount , etc. Review all the discounts available in New Jersey and ask your insurer for the one you qualify.
Your best option to find the most affordable car insurance coverage in New Jersey is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE auto insurance quotes today.
Note – We are not in any way contacted with the New Jersey Department Of Insurance. If you have any problem purchasing the car insurance policy please contact DOBI immediately.
Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: