Rhode Island Car Insurance


The state of Rhode Island requires its drivers to carry automobile insurance, in order to legally operate a motor vehicle in Rhode Island. It is illegal and unsafe to drive without car insurance. State of Rhode Island applies car insurance as a form of financial responsibility. insurancemozo.com may provide you important information and to find the Best and most affordable Rhode Island Car Insurance for you.

What are the minimum Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements?

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Rhode Island. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Rhode Island is 25/50/20.

$25,000 bodily injury liability for one person.

$50,000 for all injuries per accident.

$20,000 total property damage per accident.

Rhode Island currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.

Is Rhode Island a Tort State?

Yes, Rhode Island is a tort State. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.

What are the various discounts I can avail in Rhode Island?

Various kind of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Senior driver discount, Anti theft discount, Good student discount, Occupational car discount etc. which may be available in Rhode Island as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider. This discount may help you to find the most affordable car insurance in Rhode Island.

Should I buy UM/UIM protection?

There are laws in all states for insurance coverage, but there are still some drivers on the roads without adequate coverage .What happened if you have an accident with someone who does not have sufficient money? Who will pay for their claims?

Here UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage policy covers all those matters.

The State of Rhode Island currently requires UM and UIM coverage, but if you choose to buy only minimum limits of bodily injury and property damage liability as required by law then you may decline to purchase this coverage.

Is PIP (Personal injury protection) required in Rhode Island?

PIP states that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses of injured person and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage also. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.

The State of Rhode Island current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

How do I get a best car Insurance Quote in Rhode Island?

The best option to find the best and cheap Rhode Island Car insurance quote is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE auto insurance quotes.

Here at insurancemozo.com, help you to find the most cheap auto insurance quotes for you and your family, so that you won’t have to pay the extreme insurance prices when you buy auto insurance in Rhode Island.

Official websites links:

To find the most affordable Rhode Island Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:

Rhode Island Department of Insurance: www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/insurance

Rhode Island Department of motor vehicles: www.dmv.ri.gov

Rhode Island Department of Business regulation at:

233 Richmond Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 222-2246

Car insurance agents in Rhode Island

Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: