Like most of the other US states, drivers in Virginia are required to carry basic auto insurance. Virginia has its own car insurance rules and regulations. These laws are there to protect drivers on the road. insurancemozo.com can save you money on your auto insurance in Virginia and understands the value of important information necessary and to find the Best and most affordable Virginia Car Insurance for you.
Virginia drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Virginia is 25/50/20.
$25,000 bodily injury per person.
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
$20,000 total property damage per accident.
Virginia currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.
Virginia is not a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.
Some states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.
The Commonwealth of Virginia currently requires UM/UIM coverage with the same coverage limits as for the required liability coverage (25/50/20). The $20,000 property damage coverage is subject to a $200 deductible when a loss is caused by a hit-and-run driver who cannot be identified.
Various kinds of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Accident free discount, Drive Safe and save discount, Good driving discount, Student away discounts etc. which may be available in Virginia as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider. This discount may help you to find the cheapest car insurance in Virginia.
PIP states that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses of injured person and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage also. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.
The Commonwealth of Virginia current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.
The best option to find the best and cheap Virginia Car insurance quote is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE auto insurance quotes.
To find the cheap Virginia Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:
Virginia Department of motor vehicles: www.dmv.state.va.us
Virginia Department of Insurance: www.scc.virginia.gov/boi
Virginia Bureau of Insurance at:
1300 E. Main St.
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Phone: (800) 552-7945
Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: