West Virginia Car Insurance


Like most of the other US states, drivers in West Virginia are required to carry basic auto insurance. West Virginia has its own car insurance rules and regulations. These laws are there to protect drivers on the road. insurancemozo.com can save you money on your auto insurance in West Virginia and understands the value of important information necessary and to find the Best and most affordable West Virginia Car Insurance for you.

What are the minimum West Virginia Car Insurance Requirements?

West Virginia drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. The minimum liability amounts for the State of West Virginia is 20/40/10.

$20,000 bodily injury per person.

$40,000 total bodily injury per accident.

$10,000 total property damage per accident.

West Virginia currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver’s license. SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state’s DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried.

Is West Virginia a No fault State?

West Virginia is not a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident s/he may have to pay the charges for other driver’s medical expenses as well for any damage to his/her vehicle. Second party can also claim money for lost wages and his/her sufferings.

Is UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist) Coverage required in West Virginia?

Some states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of West Virginia currently requires UM/UIM coverage with the same minimum requirements as the liability insurance.

What kind of car insurance discounts is available in West Virginia?

Various kinds of car insurance discounts are available and among them few are mentioned here like Accident free discount, Drive Safe and save discount, Good driving discount, Student away at school discount etc. which may be available in West Virginia as these discounts may vary from state to state and from provider to provider. This discount may help you to find the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia.

Should I buy PIP (Personal injury protection)?

PIP states that car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses, funeral expenses of injured person and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage also. This type of car insurance coverage varies by state and depends upon policy provisions.

The State of West Virginia current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

How do I get a best car Insurance Quote in West Virginia?

The best option to find the best and cheap West Virginia Car insurance quote is to always start an auto insurance quote comparison search online. Just enter your ZIP code above to get FREE auto insurance quotes.

Official websites links:

To find the cheap West Virginia Car Insurance, go through the given official website links:

West Virginia Department of motor vehicles: www.dmv.wv.gov

West Virginia Department of Insurance: www.wvinsurance.gov

West Virginia office of Insurance at:

Consumer Service Division
PO Box 50540
Charleston, West Virginia 25305-0540

Car insurance agents in West Virginia

Select your city from the list below to find local agents in your city: